The Parish Church, St Mary’s, is a mid-14th century church with an aisled and cloistered nave of four bays. The current parish priest is Rev Richard Coles, former member of pop group The Communards. The tower houses a ring of eight bells in the key of D with the tenor weighing just over 21 hundredweight (about 1.1 tonnes). The church also boasts an impressive organ which was probably originally built for St George’s Chapel in Windsor Castle in 1704. It was installed in 1717, rebuilt in 1872, and restored in 1960, and it retains its tracker action. Popular legend has it that Handel played on the organ before it came to Finedon, but this has never been decisively proved.